St Bartholomew Church, King Alfred Place, Winchester, Hampshire, SO23 7DF
St Bartholomew Church dates back to 1110 when the Abbey moved to Hyde from its original site north of the Cathedral. Built by monks, it was the lay people's church of Hyde Abbey. When the Abbey was destroyed by Henry VIII in 1538, some of its stones were used to build the church tower and five capitals were also incorporated into the building.
However, after the dissolution, the church gradually fell into disrepair, until the Victorian era, when it was extensively repaired and a new north aisle added. The lovely stained glass windows were added between 1856 and 1972, and the fine woodwork is 20th century. Children, look out for the two dogs on the pew-ends in the Lady Chapel! King Alfred the Great is also long rumoured to be buried in the churchyard.
Ride and Stride is taking place on 14th September, and it is intended there will also be a heritage display. Further details on the proposed exhibit will be confirmed nearer the time.
● Saturday 14 September: 1000-1630
There are a few steps down into the church.
The Church should also be free to explore throughout the festival period, please though come back here for an update nearer the time.
Approaching from the city centre go half way along Hyde Street and turn right into King Alfred Place.