Back to All Events

Talbot House History


  • Talbot House, 83 High Street, Winchester, Hampshire, SO23 9AP (map)

Visit our website and come and see our office window display to learn about the interesting history of our home, Talbot House!

This building previously housed the Talbot Hotel - in its day one of Winchester's best known coaching inns and pubs. The building was designed and built for the Chesil Brewery in 1885 by prominent local architect and alderman Thomas Stopher, who was responsible for several of the city's most significant late Victorian buildings. It features many classic period design details - from the steep, gabled roofs to the tall sash windows and brick and flint elevations - as well as a distinctive double storey corner window that has become a familiar part of the local streetscape.

In the late 1960s and early 1970s, the pub on the ground floor was famed for its cheap beer, loud music and relaxed attitude to drug-taking and became a social hub for the city's youth. The pub was forced to close in 1975, following a police raid, which uncovered drugs hidden in a piano. It was purchased that same year by the late local businessman Maurice Beale, who ran his firm of chartered surveyors and estate agents from the building through till the late 1980s. Today, the building's ground floor is occupied by Belgarum Estate Agents, with 12 small, independent businesses housed in offices on upper floors.

For those interested in the history of Talbot house or who are unable to visit in-person, please visit our website. 

Timings & Tours 

10am - 5pm every day over the festival period

Location & directions 

Directions: https://www.belgarum.com/our-home-talbot-house

Contact on day: John Leeson

Telephone number: +441962844460

Booking information 

Pre-booking requirement: Pre-booking not required

Earlier Event: September 12
Fort Widley Taster Tour
Later Event: September 12
Canute’s Palace and medieval wine vaults